## **RESOLUTION #11**

## AGRICULTURAL OFFSET TO STATE MINIMUM WAGE

1	WHEREAS, New Jersey agriculture is heavily concentrated in the production of
2	fruit and vegetable crops meant for fresh-market sale, as well as nursery, greenhouse
3	and horticultural stock; and
4	WHEREAS, dairy farms are also labor-intensive operations and most dairy farms
5	rely on hired labor to help with the day-to-day operations throughout the entire year; and
6	WHEREAS, these sectors, as well as others, including equine and agri-tourism,
7	are labor-intensive operations, as the products being produced or experiences being
8	offered rely upon aesthetic appeal to the consumer as much as, or more than, any other
9	attribute; and
10	WHEREAS, there is a necessity for hand-picking and/or hand-tending of these
11	agricultural products and experiences; and
12	WHEREAS, most New Jersey farms are family-owned operations, in which there
13	are not enough family members to provide all the needed labor; and
14	WHEREAS, this creates the need for the hiring of outside labor; and
15	WHEREAS, farm labor wages in New Jersey often already exceed the existing
16	minimum wage due to competition for that labor from other industries, such as
17	construction, landscaping and food-service; and
18	WHEREAS, a 2013 ballot question passed, raising the state's minimum wage as
19	of January 1, 2014, to \$8.25 per hour, plus annual increases tied to the Consumer Price
20	Index; and
21	WHEREAS, this increase in the minimum wage has resulted in a "ratchet effect"
22	of all other higher levels of pay on a given farm in order to maintain incentives to "move
23	up" in that farm's labor structure; and

WHEREAS, many produce farm operators pay a "piece-rate," in which workers are paid based on the amount of fruits or vegetables they pick and, during peak harvest, good workers can make significantly more than the minimum wage under this piece-rate system; but by contrast, the farm operator must pay **at least** the minimum wage for those workers who pick less, or during times when there are not enough crops to be picked, to have the piece-rate wage be at least equal to the minimum wage; and

WHEREAS, the current state minimum wage is more than the federal minimum
 wage (\$7.25 per hour) paid by businesses in other states that have not adopted
 minimum wages higher than the federal minimum; and

WHEREAS, this juxtaposition of higher labor costs in New Jersey with lower
 production costs for produce coming from surrounding states puts New Jersey
 agriculture at a competitive disadvantage with surrounding states whose farmers are
 paying a lower minimum wage, since those out-of-state farmers will be able to undercut
 New Jersey farmers on prices for their similar products; and

WHEREAS, this competitive disadvantage created by lower labor expenses in
other states serves to undermine the prices for products from New Jersey producers, as
well as the viability of direct-marketing and agri-tourism efforts by New Jersey farmers,
leading to stagnating growth in the Garden State's agricultural sectors; and

42 WHEREAS, New Jersey farmers who hire outside labor also frequently provide 43 those employees with lodging, meals and the costs of traveling to New Jersey from other 44 parts of the United States or from foreign countries, but do not currently receive, under 45 state laws, any consideration of those labor-connected cost factors in determining 46 whether agricultural operators must pay the state-mandated minimum wage.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the delegates to the 102<sup>nd</sup>
 State Agricultural Convention, assembled in Atlantic City, New Jersey, on February 8-9,
 2017, oppose measures to increase New Jersey's minimum wage.

- 34 -

50 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that we oppose any attempt to put a measure on 51 the 2017 ballot calling for a Constitutional amendment on raising the state minimum 52 wage.

53 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that, if measures do progress that raise the state 54 minimum wage, they include either a separate agricultural minimum wage, a separate 55 and lower minimum wage for workers under the age of 18, and/or, if higher rates prevail, 56 tax credits be created that recognize the unique contributions to employee compensation 57 made by agricultural operators, including but not limited to the provision of housing, 58 meals and the cost of transportation to bring labor to the farm.

59 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that we urge the Legislature to introduce and 60 approve, and the Governor to sign, legislation that would establish, through a tax credit 61 for agricultural operators, an effective freezing of the training wage for the first year of 62 employment for agricultural workers who have not worked on that particular farm before 63 and who must be trained in the methods of that farm, at the current minimum wage.